B. 12/16/12

So, when I graduated high school I received a sweatshirt (from my mom, of course) with the name of the college that I would be attending the following Fall across the front.  I was going to a public California State school (or CSU for those of you who know what the fuck I’m talking about) and have since continued my education at another CSU.  It’s been raining here for the past forever, and this sweatshirt is pretty warm and comfy for those “soup” kind of days, so I wore it to work last week.  My employer/the father of the kid that I watch gave me a super weird look as I walked in and said something along the lines of “Oh, you really like the CSU’s?” in a semi-superior tone.  I really didn’t know how to respond—I really like my employers and respect them quite a bit but it just seemed a tad bit off.  I’m sorry that it is way more economical for me to attend two public, state run schools and that I can’t really afford some pinky up, east coast, ivy league education but that’s just the socioeconomic class that I was born into; I have had to work dead end jobs for next to no pay to get the education that I have and I am completely proud of what I have accomplished within the CSU’s thus far.  Sorry, just needed to rant about that one a bit!

Now don’t you feel better?

Leave a Reply

